My Abstract Art – Revealed

There is a style of art that has evolved for me over many years that I return to again and again no matter what else I dabble in.  It is my favorite and has produced pieces that are deeply important to me.  They speak to me on some level that I can’t quite put into words.  I think that may be why, up till now, I’ve never shared them with anyone other than my husband.  I’m getting braver that way.

When I began exploring this style, as it emerged from somewhere within me, I finally felt good about my art.  Before I had always tried to force myself to be a realist in art and had never been satisfied with the outcome, even, looking back, when a piece was actually really good.  Going abstract seemed to help me out of that limiting and judgmental place when it came to my art and I’ve discovered that, for me, art is a therapy, a meditation that gets me out of my head, and something  that I have come to love.

The pieces below took varying  lengths of time to finish, from a couple hours to several months.  All the tiny details can take a great deal of time and can also be taxing to my wrist, so I often have to break them up in to more manageable chunks, especially the larger ones.

The mediums are pen, colored pencil, colored pen, watercolor, watercolor pencil, and water color crayon.

Below are several samples from over the years.

Changing Seasons – Pen, Colored Pen and Watercolor by Maurie Kirschner

Willow on a Spring Full Moon – Pen, Colored Pen and Colored Pencil by Maurie Kirschner

Untitled – Pen and Colored Pen by Maurie Kirschner

Untitled – close up on midsection art by Maurie Kirschner

This is an interpretation of the Empress Tarot Card in pen and colored pen by Maurie Kirschner

Fire Energy Medley – pen and colored pen by Maurie Kirschner

Plowed Fields and an Old Fence – pen and colored pencil by Maurie Kirschner

Tree in pen by Maurie Kirschner

Untitled in pen, colored pen and colored pencil by Maurie Kirschner

Unsuspecting in stamp and pen by Maurie Kirschner

Five of Cups Tarot interpretation in pen and colored pen by Maurie Kirschner (this was my first Tarot image I ever did)

4 responses to “My Abstract Art – Revealed

  1. I love these artworks – especially the Willow one – you are so talented 🙂

  2. Thank you Goddess Pearl (love the name!). The willow is one of my all time favorites, I’m so glad someone else thinks it’s special too!

  3. The second one is my favorite! I remember when I was thinking of applying to a certain photography program at a famous art school, they asked for drawing samples (argh) – I never applied because I never even tried drawing! I live vicariously 🙂

  4. Holy smoke, these are STUNNING. My fave is #2, as well!

Leave a Reply

