Food on Friday

There was a time when I was writing a lot about food, several posts a week back when I had a separate blog dedicated to food stuff.  I haven’t done as much writing on food since then, just a little here and there and yet it is a major part of my daily life, so I wonder why.  It might feel a bit overwhelming to me, making sure I get pictures for every thing so to make the posts more appealing.  But if I am going to write about food, I need to let myself off that hook and just write and if I have some pics, great.  If not, it encourages people to use their imaginations, right?  Right.

So lets talk food, then.

First of all we are on a tight budget once again, recovering from several things life threw at us recently.  This means food gets super simple again.  It also means we decided to use a coupon in our Chinook Book for a 20% off on an organic delivery of veggies and fruit.  We’re trying a new place for us this time around, having done various CSA’s and general organic food delivery programs before.  Ultimately my preferred way to shop is at the farmer’s market where I can browse and pick up what appeals at the time.  Winter isn’t so good for that around here, and the delivery programs tend to save us a good deal of money when we most need it, like in winter when utility bills are so much higher.

So for this time around we’re trying New Roots Organics.  It is a local company running out of the Ballard neighborhood here in Seattle and has been in business since the late ’90s.  They deliver their bins of organic produce directly to your home weekly or bi-weekly, depending on your needs.  They seem to have a decent variety of veggies each week from what I have seen and a good substitution system.  You can add items as well, and the prices are pretty decent for the extra items, something that is not always the case with other similar programs.  Since I can have hardly any fruit these days while fighting this systemic candida, I was pleased to see that they had a veggies only option and then we can add on the few pieces of fruit that Mark needs for the week.  He’s eating out of what we canned last summer for a lot of his fruit right now, but still likes to have some fresh stuff through out the week.  I’m able to get my avocados and lemons, which are essential to my huge raw salad meal that I have on a nearly daily basis.  So far it’s a win win.  Of course this was our first week, so we’ll see if it continues to work for us.

Here is a picture of what we got this week.

In this order:
1 bunch Beets
1 lb Carrots
1 large batch Broccoli
1 large bunch Collards
1 large bunch Chard
1 head Red Leaf Lettuce
2 Red Bell Peppers
1 pkg Mushrooms
1lb Garnet Yams
1lb Russet Potatoes
2 Avocados
1 Grapefruit
1 Orange
1 Apple
5 Bananas
2 Lemons

And one of the leaves of lettuce leant for a bit of entertainment:

All I needed to complete the look was a skimpy outfit made from cabbage leaves and a turnip tail and I could have tried out for the veggie playboy bunny!  ; – )

One of the potatoes and some of the broccoli became my lunch shortly after I noticed the box had been delivered.  Last night we had fresh fettuccine with mushrooms and an olive oil/butter drizzle topped with a little grated hard cheese and yummy side salad.  This dinner was a splurge for me because it had mushrooms, dairy and wheat in it, things I am having to either eliminate or highly minimize my intake of while on the anti-candida diet.  This is a favorite dish of ours and we have done variations of it over the past couple years.  It was a yummy treat!  But not one I can have again for quite a while!

We have some great meals planned around these veggies that I will share some of in future posts.  In the mean time I’ll share what we did Wednesday night to clear out the veggie bins and make room for the order we received the next day.

Mixed Roasted Veggies with Steamed Rice

A quarter of a head of cabbage
2 stalks celery
1 huge carrot
1 leek (pulled from my friend Ecogrrl’s garden when we visited recently – thanks Ecogrrl!)
2 small zucchini
a few slices of daikon radish

In a large cast iron skillet, saute the leeks in a bit of olive oil till wilted.  Add the rest of the veggies and more olive oil to coat well and a sprinkling of sea salt.  Place the cast iron skillet, uncovered into the oven at 400 degrees F.  Roast for 25-35 minutes till soft and starting to caramelize a little.  Serve over or next to steamed rice.  Simple, easy and delicious!

3 responses to “Food on Friday

  1. I shared with a neighbor a couple of years ago getting New Roots Organics. The produce was great so I am glad you are giving them a try. The roasted veggies look wonderful!

  2. big love for the chinook book!

  3. Pingback: Food on Friday | Mindful Mixture

Leave a Reply

