A Timely Recipe – Quinoa Corn Chowder

I had been thinking that a Quinoa and Corn chowder would taste pretty nice when soon there after Small Footsteps over at Reduce Footprints posted her monthly vegan recipe and it was none other that a Quinoa Corn Chowder!  Perfect timing!  Using the recipe she posted here as a starting point, I cooked up a batch of yummy creamy Quinoa Corn Chowder yesterday afternoon.

  • Here is what I did different from the original recipe:
  • Used red quinoa
  • Added an extra 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin towards the end
  • Added about an 1/8 teaspoon ground cayenne
  • Used several small yellow potatoes to equal the one large red called for
  • I made sure I used an unsweetened ORGANIC soy milk, I used Eden brand unsweetened which is nice and rich and creamy without a bunch of additives
  • I completely forgot the lime wedges, but might try them for lunch today
  • I let the chowder cook for closer to 20 minutes after adding the quinoa
  • before adding the red bell pepper I pureed 3/4 of the soup in the blender, then added it back in with the rest of the soup and continued on with the recipe

This soup was spectacular!  I know I will be make it regularly.  Thanks Small Footprints!

3 responses to “A Timely Recipe – Quinoa Corn Chowder

  1. I’m so glad that you tried it out and I love your changes, especially the addition of the cayenne … we love a “zip” to our soups. And thank you for posting the picture … I think it looks so pretty … using the red quinoa and pureeing some of the soup really gave it a lovely color. Actually … your post is making me hungry … might have to whip up another batch of this soup … this time with some of your enhancements!

    Take Care!

  2. Pingback: CTWW - Eco-Cooking | Mommy Blogs @ JustMommies

  3. Pingback: Food on Friday | Mindful Mixture

Leave a Reply

